Every year, residents are allowed to light off fireworks for a space of eight days. Below are details for dates, times, restricted areas, and safety tips.
In 2018, the Utah Legislature updated the Utah Fireworks Act establishing clear dates and times for discharging fireworks. Additionally, they gave local municipalities the ability to restrict fireworks in specific types of areas within a city. These areas include woodlands with vegetation near homes and urban areas as well as spaces within 200 feet of waterways, trails, canyons, and similar natural features. However, the Fireworks Act does not grant cities the ability to prohibit fireworks across their entire boundaries.
Working with the Unified Fire Authority, the Herriman City Council, as they do each year prior to the May 1st deadline set forth by the state legislature, had a discussion pertaining to the 2022 fireworks restriction map (linked above) on April 13th, 2022. During this discussion, they reviewed the previous year's map and examined the types of areas listed above to determine if any adjustments were needed. In the April 27, 2022 meeting, the Herriman fireworks restriction map was approved. Without submitting changes prior to the May 1st deadline, conditional upon certain criteria, no changes to the map may be legally made by the City.
The threat of wildfire is extremely high. Fires are likely when individuals choose to ignore safety guidelines and light fireworks outside the legal and safe discharge areas we've established for our city with UFA. To those who do choose to light fireworks this year, and in any year, we plead with you to use extreme caution, review the map of the restricted areas and follow it, be mindful of wind conditions, and remember to be considerate of those around you. As we each do our part, we can have a safe and enjoyable holiday including the tradition of fireworks.
We would encourage you to attend other professional firework shows during the upcoming holidays.
Vendors may sell Class C common state approved explosives as follows:
A person guilty of an infraction can be punished by a fine up to $1,000.
If a person discharges a class C common state approved explosive:
5355 West Main Street
Herriman, Utah 84096
7:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. | Monday - Friday