Candidate Filing Period for the 2015 Municipal Elections

There will be a municipal election this year for the following offices: Two (2) City Council positions (four-year terms, January 2016 to January 2020). Positions will be elected from Council Districts one (1) and four (4). The candidate filing period is between June 1 and June 7, 2015. Because June 7th falls on a Sunday, the filing period will be extended to 5:00 p.m. on Monday June 8, 2015. Interested parties may file for office in person with the City Recorder at the Herriman City Offices located at 13011 South Pioneer Street during normal office hours. A non-refundable filing fee of $25 is required at the time of declaration. The qualification requirements for municipal office are:

  1. Must be United Stated Citizen at the time of filing.
  2. Must be a registered voter in Herriman City.
  3. Must be at least 18 years of age.
  4. Must be a resident of the Council District in Herriman City for 12 consecutive months immediately preceding the date of election.
  5. In accordance with Utah constitution Article IV, Section 6, any mentally incompetent person, any person convicted of a felony, or any person convicted of treason or a crime against the elective franchise may not hold office in this state until the right to hold elective office is restored.

If more than two candidates file for each position, a primary election will be held on Tuesday, August 11, 2015. The general election will be held on Tuesday, November 3, 2015. To inquire about additional information please contact the City Recorder’s Office at Herriman City Offices, 13011 South Pioneer Street, (801) 446-5323, during regular business hours.

Declaration of Candidacy

Districts Map

Herriman Government Officials and Terms

  • Mayor Carmen Freeman – 2014 to 2018
  • Council Member Mike Day – 2012 to 2016 – District 4
  • Council Member Matt Robinson – 2012 to 2016 – District 1
  • Council Member Craig Tischner – 2014 to 2018 – District 3
  • Council Member Coralee Wessman-Moser – 2014 to 2018 – District 2

2014 Election Information
2013 Election Results:
To view the official result for the General Elections click here.

To view the official result for the Primary Elections click here.

Primary Municipal Elections Campaign Finance Report
Municipal Elections Campaign Finance Report

Register to Vote

On-Line Application:

Now it’s easier than ever to register online! Simply visit the Online Voter Registration website to find out more. You need to have a current Utah Driver’s License or ID card in order to register using the online system.

Your Online Voter Registration must be submitted 30 days prior to the upcoming election to be eligible to vote in that election.

Vote the Easy Way…Vote By Mail!
Salt Lake County has a Permanent Vote by Mail Program for anyone who prefers to vote by mail. All you have to do is apply and you will automatically receive your ballot in the mail for every election in which you are eligible to vote. An application and details are available on the County Clerk’s website.

To find out if you are a registered voter, or are interested in applying for the “Permanent Vote by Mail Program” please visit the County Election’s website.

For voter registration information, contact the Salt Lake County Election Registrars office at (801)468-3427.

Election related links:

Utah State

Salt Lake County

Federal Election Commission

© Copyright 2013 Herriman City.